Welcome to MESERB

Established in 1997 under Minnesota Statutes section 471.59, the Minnesota Environmental Science and Economic Review Board (MESERB) is a municipal joint powers organization dedicated to the research, study and analysis of water quality issues that are important to Greater Minnesota communities. Our members share a common goal of keeping Minnesota’s waters clean, while working to ensure that environmental regulations are based on science that is transparent (in which results and methods are openly shared) and independently reviewed, and that the implementation of those standards results in meaningful benefits to water quality.

MESERB enlists the talent and resources of municipal wastewater technicians and officials, scientists, engineers and regulatory & legal analysts in a cooperative effort to improve Minnesota’s water quality. We accomplish this by supporting scientific research, providing technical expertise, working with the regulators who develop the rules that affect us, and reviewing wastewater permit applications for individual members. To learn more about the work we do, please visit our “Services” page.

Our Members

MESERB has nearly 60 joint powers board members who together represent more than 630,000 Minnesotans and over 140 million gallons of wastewater treatment capacity. Put another way, this is 140 million gallons of raw sewage that would pollute our state’s rivers and lakes if not for the dedicated efforts of MESERB’s members. Our members are:

City of Albany
City of Albert Lea
Alexandria Lake Area Sanitary District
City of Austin
City of Avon
Brainerd Public Utilities
Breckenridge Public Utilities
City of Cambridge
Central Iron Range Sanitary Sewer District
City of Crookston
City of Crosslake
Detroit Lakes Public Utilities
City of Eveleth
City of Faribault
City of Fergus Falls
City of Fulda
City of Glencoe
Grand Rapids Public Utilities
City of Granite Falls
City of Hutchinson
City of Lafayette
Lake Crystal Municipal Utilities
City of Lakefield
City of Le Sueur
City of Little Falls
City of Luverne
City of Mankato
City of Marshall
Melrose Public Utilities

City of Montgomery
City of Moorhead
City of Mountain Iron
City of New Prague
City of New Ulm
City of Northfield
City of Olivia
City of Owatonna
City of Pelican Rapids
City of Red Wing
City of Redwood Falls
City of Renville
City of Rochester
City of Roseau
Sauk Centre Public Utilities
City of Slayton
City of St. Michael
City of Thief River Falls
City of Trimont
City of Warroad
City of Waseca
Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
City of Willmar
City of Windom
City of Winnebago
City of Worthington

MESERB also has nine non-voting associate members:

Archer-Daniels-Midland Co.
Bolton & Menk
Brown and Caldwell
Donohue & Associates, Inc.
HR Green Company
MSA Professional Services
Pilgrims Pride
Short Elliot Hendrickson, Inc.
Stanley Consultants

For information on how to become a MESERB member, please visit our “Join” page.

MESERB Executive Committee

Joshua Gad, Water Resource Recovery Facility Superintendent, City of Mankato

Vice President
Scott Gilbertson, Executive Director, Alexandria Lake Area Sanitary District

Sara Sietsema, Environmental Specialist, City of Willmar

Northern Representatives
Andy Bradshaw, Operations Manager, City of Moorhead
Rob Bredeson, Water/Wastewater Supervisor, City of Detroit Lakes
Marianne Bohren, Executive Director, Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
Matthew Lemke, Wastewater Superintendent, City of Fergus Falls

Southern Representatives
Scott Truedson, Wastewater Treatment Plant Superintendent, City of Marshall
Aaron Luckstein, Deputy Public Works Director of Environmental Services, City of Rochester
Dan O’Connor, Wastewater Department Supervisor, City of New Ulm

At-Large Representatives
Jerry Plein, Deputy Director of Public Works Utilities, City of Red Wing
Matt Streit, Wastewater Superintendent, City of Little Falls
Tim Gratke, Wastewater Manager, City of Hutchinson

Associate Representatives (non-voting)
Tim Korby, HR Green
Tracy Ekola, Brown and Caldwell
Susan Danzl, SEH, Inc.